Time to Update the Rooney Rule

AP Photo

Before we bury the NFL’s Rooney Rule, let’s take stock of what it has produced:

1. Pittsburgh’s Mike Tomlin 12-4; 2. Chicago’s Lovie Smith 11-5; 3. Tampa Bay’s Raheem Morris 10-6; 4. Indianapolis’ Jim Caldwell 10-6; 5. San Francisco’s Mike Singletary 5-10; 6. Cincinnati’s Marvin Lewis 4-12.

The combined record of the African Americans who started the 2010 season as head coaches was an impressive 52-43. Three of the six have guided their teams to the Super Bowl.

Read Full Article »

Recommended Articles

MMQB: Seau's Death Could Be Turning Point

Peter King, Sports Illustrated - May 7, 2012

First up this morning: A history lesson. We'll never see two months like we've just seen in any offseason. Ever. To recap: March 2 -- The NFL says the Saints ran a sophisticated bounty program with defensive coordinator Gregg... more »

Shanahan Leaves No Doubt: Griffin to Start

John Keim, Sporting News - May 7, 2012

The first thing you notice is the footwork—and not because of the gold shoes. Yes, that’s part of Robert Griffin III’s persona. Just like the braids that flowed from underneath his Washington Redskins helmet.... more »

Rivera, Seau Showcase Fragility of Talent

Tim Joyce, RealClearSports - May 6, 2012

When Derek Jeter arrived in the major leagues in 1995, the soon-to-be superstar displayed an innate modesty and reverence for the sport. That season Jeter had the good fortune of playing alongside pinstriped legend Don... more »

Warner Deserves Praise for Stance

Bryan Burwell, St. Louis Post-Dispatch - May 9, 2012

Before we allow this very important debate about the importance of player safety in pro football to disintegrate into a silly exercise of infantile name-calling (oops, too late for that), I was actually hoping that some... more »