He was the last to know. Deron Williams was flat on his back under the basket, pumping his injured left fist to celebrate what he thought was a game-winning tip-in at the buzzer.
Then he looked up at his new teammates and realized — uh oh — none of them were celebrating with him.
“Was it good?” he kept asking. “Was it good?”
It was not. The referees ruled the put-back on his floater had left the fingertips of Kris Humphries a fraction of a second late, then confirmed the call with the replay. Williams looked down at the court when the final ruling was announced, biting his tongue as he walked off the floor a loser.