New Conference Alters College Hockey

New Conference Alters College Hockey

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association will mark its 60th year this fall. The Central Collegiate Hockey Association will begin its 41st season. How these mainstays of college hockey will look in two years is anyone's guess after Wednesday's announcement that the National Collegiate Hockey Conference will begin play in 2013-14 with some of the game's most powerful programs as charter members.

Denver, Colorado College, defending national champion Minnesota-Duluth, Nebraska-Omaha and North Dakota are bolting the WCHA for the new league. Together these five schools have won 17 national championships.

Miami (Ohio), which has reached the Frozen Four two of the last three years, is leaving the CCHA for the NCHC.

"The college hockey landscape has changed dramatically over the years and I really believe this is a great opportunity not only for us, but for schools outside the NCHC to reshape and realign," said Denver coach George Gwozdecky.

Read Full Article »
Show commentsHide Comments

Related Articles