Another Year Without Canadian Cup Winner

Another Year Without Canadian Cup Winner

And then there were none.

So for the first time since 1996, the last year of the old Winnipeg Jets, there won't be a Canadian NHL team in the second round of the playoffs, with the plucky eighth seeded Ottawa Senators the last one to bow out in Thursday's Game 7 loss.

It's now been 19 years since the 1993 Montreal Canadiens surprised everyone in winning their 24th Stanley Cup, capping a run of eight Canadian winners in 10 years.

In fact, in the 52 seasons between 1942 and that 1993 win, a Canadian NHL team won the Cup all but 16 times – an impressive 69 per cent of the time.

A championship parade in Montreal or Edmonton, in other words, was the rule, not the exception.

Read Full Article »
Show commentsHide Comments

Related Articles