Derby Champ Unlikely to Win Again

AP Photo

When 2011 Derby winner Animal Kingdom beat five horses in a $60,000 allowance race on the Gulfstream Park turf course in February, he became the first Kentucky Derby winner to win a subsequent race since Big Brown ended his career with a victory in the Monmouth Stakes in September 2008. Moreover, Animal Kingdom was the first Derby champion to win a race in his 4-year-old season since Giacomo won the San Diego Handicap at Del Mar in 2006.

Three of the past six Derby winners — Super Saver (2010), Mine That Bird (2009) and Barbaro (2006) — never won again. Only two of the past eight winners — Big Brown (2008) and Street Sense (2007) — won more than once after the big score at Churchill Downs.

What gives?

There are a number of factors in play:

• The fluke factor: Long shots win more often. Five bombs at 20-1 or greater...

Read Full Article »


Hansen Lucks Out on Draw

May 3, 2012

With a large field and all the bumping and crowding and blocking that comes with it, the draw for the post positions has become a vital part of the race lore. Top 3-year-old Lookin' at Lucky fell afoul of the dreaded No. 1... more »