PGA Award Certifies McIlroy as Superstar

PGA Award Certifies McIlroy as Superstar

On Tuesday, the PGA of America made official what we have known all along: Rory McIlroy is the player of the year. In fact, Golf Magazine broke the news weeks earlier, naming McIlroy its POY. The PGA Tour will announce its own award next month, and it will be a DEWEY DEFEATS TRUMAN upset if McIlroy doesn't take that POY, too. After all, he led the Tour in victories (4), earnings ($8.047 million), and scoring average (68.87). (That last stat also earned him the Vardon Trophy.)

So now that we've established that this is in fact Rory's year, it's time to look ahead: what will the kid do for an encore? Since 1994, only Tiger Woods has won more than one POY, though it must be noted that he scooped up 10 of them. Tom Lehman ('96), Mark O'Meara ('98) and Padraig Harrington ('08) pretty much fell into the abyss after their banner campaigns, and Jim Furyk ('10) hasn't exactly built on his, either.

So the question becomes is McIlroy, 23, another one-hit wonder, or will he begin stacking up great seasons one after the other, a la Woods?

Read Full Article »
Show commentsHide Comments

Related Articles