1st-Timers Boost NFL Hall of Fame Class

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced Friday morning their list of the 15 modern-era candidates for the Hall of Fame. Voters will meet on Saturday, Feb. 2, 2013 in New Orleans to determine what players make the Hall of Fame. (A maximum of five modern-era candidates can make it.)

The list contained no major surprises. There are four first-year eligible players, eight other players, a coach and two contributors. You can view the entire list with biographical information here, but I'm...

Read Full Article »

Recommended Articles

RG3 Leads By Example to March 'Skins

Dave Sheinin, Washington Post - December 29, 2012

He came in with a plan, and the plan was to have no plan, or at least not one that was obvious. In the NFL, they can sniff out a wannabe-leader, a bold-faced climber, a fraud from a mile away. All the way back in the spring,... more »

Can Jones' Cowboys Get Past Redskins?

Sally Jenkins, Washington Post - December 30, 2012

ARLINGTON, Tex. — The Dallas Cowboys’ home locker room after a game is suffused by a bright halo of light from a wall of TV cameras encircling the central figure in the room. It’s not Tony Romo,DeMarcus Ware or some other... more »

Lions' Schwartz Says No Rift With GM

Carlos Monarrez, Detroit Free Press - December 29, 2012

Detroit Lions coach Jim Schwartz strongly denied a Sports Illustrated report that claimed tension has developed between him and general manager Martin Mayhew for taking chances on troublesome players.   Bill Keenist, the... more »

New Orleans Still Payton's Place

Larry Holder, New Orleans Times-Picayune - December 29, 2012

The uncertainty concerning Sean Payton's future ceased Friday evening with a joyful conclusion for New Orleans Saints fans as their Super Bowl-winning coach agreed to a five-year contract extension.    Payton's... more »

NFL Sideline Concussion Testing Not Effective

Sean Conboy, Wired - December 29, 2012

The only thing more troubling than the hit that rattled Calvin Johnson’s brain was what happened when he finally got back up.   The Detroit Lions’ star receiver had leaped gracefully to catch a pass thrown by Matt Stafford,... more »