« Mangino's Being Named Coach Of The Year Is Bittersweet | RCS Blog Home Page | Pay Homage to Gamblor - Week 16 »

Checking in With the Sports Blogger of the Year Tournament

by Ryan Hudson

As you may or may not know at this point, the guys over at Busted Coverage are hosting a 64-team, college basketball style tournament to determine who is the 2007 Sports Blogger of the Year. Basement dwellers unite!

Its a pretty ambitious venture, even if we were not mentioned (just wait 'til next year, guys...or something). The first round just wrapped up, with all four of the No. 1 seeds - AOL Fanhouse, Awful Announcing, Deadspin and The Big Lead - moving on.

The biggest upset in the first round was Athletics Nation getting by TrueHoop - a No. 15 over a No. 2. No word of Larry Eustachy's involvement. It looks like The Big Lead (in the West) has the easiest road ahead out of the No. 1's, save for a seemingly looming battle against either FireJoeMorgan or SPORTSbyBROOKS in the Elite Eight.

Over in the South, Awful Announcing faces off with No. 8 Signal To Noise, which should create from friendly competition, considering S2N appears on AA's site quite a bit. Also, know what being the Godfather of Blogging gets you? -- A first round upset at the hands of Dan Shanoff.

Voting for Round 2 ends Friday, and they're handing out the crown on Dec. 28th. Vote early, vote often.