The Pit Stop

August 20, 2008 4:16 PM

Major penalties handed out today.....

for the Joe Gibbs Racing team today for they actions at Michigan concerning the dyno test.

Penalties are:

Owner Joe Gibbs-loss of 150 owner points for Nos. 18 and 20 cars

No. 18 and no. 20 team-probation until Dec. 31

Driver Joey Logano and Tony Stewart-loss of 150 driver points, probation until Dec. 31

No. 18 crew chief Jason Ratcliff and no. 20 crew chief David Rodgers-fined $50,000 and indefinitely suspended

No. 18 car chief Dorian Thorsen-indefinite suspension

No. 18 engine tuner Michael Johnson-indefinite suspension

No. 18 crew member Toby Bigelow-indefinite suspension

No. 20 car chief Richard Bray-indefinite suspension

No. 20 engine tuner Dan Bajek-indefinite suspension

Joe Gibbs has come out with a statement on these major penalties.

Also winding up with a penalty out of Michigan was Donnie Wingo who is the crew chief for Sprint Cup Car Reed Sorenson drivers.  He gets a 25 grand fine for an improper weight in his car.

Travis Geisler is now the new crew chief for Sam Hornish Jr. and Travis replaces Chris Carrier.

Camping World is going to be the sponsor for the Kansas Speedway race on September 28.

The Michigan Sprint Cup scored a 3.9 rating while the Nationwide Series race pulled in a 1.3 rating.

NASCAR Now Note:

Jamie Little says that Wally Brown and Doug Hewitt are going to be the back-up crew chiefs for Joe Gibbs Racing for this weekend.

A Member Of