Larry Barnett, Catcher Interference, 1975 World Series Game 3
This call is infamous, but is less "blown" than some of the others. It was the 10th inning of Game 3 of the 1975 World Series, and Larry Barnett was behind home plate. Ed Armbrister of the Cincinnati Reds, a right-handed hitter, dropped a sacrifice bunt right in front of home plate. Red Sox catcher Carlton Fisk attempted to field the ball, collided with Armbrister, and committed a throwing error trying to get the ball to second base. The error allowed the Reds to score the winning run, and the Sox were furious that Barnett didn't call interference on Armbrister.
Watching the video, which is not the best quality, it's hard to tell whether Armbrister's collision with Fisk was intentional. Barnett stood by his decision, as did Major League Baseball, citing a rule stating a catcher and batter colliding is not interference, "barring an intentional action on the part of either player." The Professional Baseball Umpires Corporation that oversees minor-league umps instructs them to make the same call Barnett did. Karma did come back around for Fisk, who hit the famous "magic wave" home run to win Game 6 in the bottom of the 12th. Had Barnett called interference and Boston gone on to win Game 3, that would have been the Series winner.
Interestingly enough, Barnett was also behind home plate for the famous incident in which right field umpire Rich Garcia called a home run for Derek Jeter when an 11-year-old named Jeffrey Maier interfered.